Closed gaps

DSCF3015BW

DSCF3043

DSCF3054

DSCF3056

DSCF3067BW

What I love most about the Filipino culture is that we are grounded on God and grounded on family.

DSCF3112

DSCF3107

DSCF3121

DSCF3135

DSCF3143

DSCF3134

I wonder what I would feel when my Mom and I could come to the yearly reunion in the US. Everybody’s there, while we’re here. All of my cousins, they get to see each other given any circumstances; they get to make new memories day by day. The only memories I have are the ones when we were all so young. I’m not so close to them anymore, so I’m really far behind.

Watching a video from their reunion last October 30, I can’t help but shed a few tears. This always happens. I sometimes wonder what it would be like if they came here all to visit. That’d probably be one of the best days for my Mom and I… (Written November 1, 2012)

DSCF3159\

DSCF3160

DSCF3169

DSCF3178

DSCF3182

DSCF3183

That was quite an emotional entry for me four years ago. Going back to right now, today, I would like to comfort my 20-year-old self and the ages that I have been, for in December 18, 2014, my Mom and I were able to visit our family in the States.

DSCF3257

DSCF3259

DSCF3308

DSCF3309

DSCF3310

DSCF3312

It was my Mom’s second time, and it was my first. A few months after, my Dad was also able to go as well for the first time to the States to his family but on a bittersweet season.

Tatay, my Grandpa, passed away last May 2015. My Dad was able to see his 4 sisters again, 2 of them he hasn’t seen for 29 years.

Yes, it was a bittersweet reunion…

My cousin Kuya John C once said that he hoped we as a family would all get together not just on occasions like weddings or funerals…

If only we had the luxury to visit several times or stay longer, we would.

DSCF3313

DSCF3314

DSCF3318

DSCF3320

DSCF3343

DSCF3345

Ever since I can remember, to be with family has been one of my dreams as a child. I recalled crying before that we may not able to see them again anymore.

DSCF3350

DSCF3381

DSCF3417

DSCF3420

DSCF3422

DSCF3425

But God answered this long uttered prayer for me and for my Mom and Dad.

DSCF3428

DSCF3430

To be honest, I find it difficult to write about things that matter most to me.

Like relationships.

Like a life’s purpose.

Like people I intimately know and love.

Like faith.

Like God.

Like family.

DSCF3434

DSCF3436

DSCF3439

DSCF3440

DSCF3443

DSCF3446

DSCF3447

DSCF3449

I have many thoughts about them, but it’s always difficult to try and put everything I think and feel on paper.

dscf3459

dscf3463

dscf3467

dscf3538

The Disney movie Meet the Robinsons made me cry. Any movie about family makes me cry.

dscf3540

dscf3779

dscf3782

In this time where we are most pre-occupied with business, work, the Internet, and social media…

dscf3590

dscf3620

In this time when we forget whom we are working hard for…

dscf3621

dscf3705

dscf3701

Community, togetherness, and family take a backseat.

dscf3855

dscf3858

dscf3874

dscf3881

But we can always change that.

dscf3898

dscf3928

When we obey immediately when our parents ask us kindly to do something for them…

dscf3902

When a relative visits and we bring out our most hospitable values for them…

dscf3938

When we may have wronged someone, we sincerely ask for their forgiveness.

dscf3958

When there are disagreements, we put them aside and agree that our friendship or family – love – should matter more.

dscf4451

When someone wants to take a silly picture of you,

dscf4452

you cooperate. (Or you can just smile.) 🙂

dscf4456

When it’s time to share meals at the dinner table, phones are silenced and laughter is magnified. Stories are listened to. The passing of plates is like an acknowledgement from one family member or friend to another saying, “I see you. Here’s what you need.” People feel they are loved. People know they are loved.

Presence and attention – two important things we can show our love to one another.

Presence, of course, can be from a distance or much better, in closeness.

If there’s one thing I’m thankful for, however, that my Mom, Dad, and I are far from our immediate families most of the time is the lesson that love knows no distance.

Even if you’re far like other-half-of-the-world far or 15-hour-time-difference far, love is still felt and passed along.

Our families, we had this gap stretched by time and physical distance, but through God, the gaps were closed, and for the past years since 2014, more new memories are being made together.

We’re making up for lost time, said my cousin Kuya Obi. But months after, he said we’re making new memories now.

dscf3070

We were made to be relational. We were made to be with people.

The same way that our Creator is in the Holy Trinity: the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

Relationships…

Maybe it’s not just in the Filipino culture.

Family, community, friends – these are found deeply more within the divine details in life.

1 thought on “Closed gaps”

Leave a Reply

