Silent, listen

DSCF3391

Silence is a word that’s been in my mind lately. It is interesting to know that the letters in ‘listen’ are the same in ‘silent.’ When we are silent, that’s when we can hear. When we are silent, that’s when we can listen.

It’s difficult to hear the words of a soft-spoken person. I have a colleague who speaks softly, and sometimes, I have to ask again for what she said or I would come nearer to hear her.

I too am soft-spoken. One time, I accidentally hit the back of a man’s foot who was walking in front of me in a grocery store. I said ‘sorry,’ but because he didn’t look kindly towards me, I thought he may have not heard what I said.

There’s also the time I was speaking to my nephew Connor, hours before our flight back to the Philippines. He told me non verbatim, “I can’t hear you!” So I had to speak louder.

I remember reading about how God speaks to us in a small still voice.

And he said, Go forth, and stand upon the mount before the Lord. And, behold, the Lord passed by, and a great and strong wind rent the mountains, and brake in pieces the rocks before the Lord; but the Lord was not in the wind: and after the wind an earthquake; but the Lord was not in the earthquake:

And after the earthquake a fire; but the Lord was not in the fire: and after the fire a still small voice.

And it was so, when Elijah heard it, that he wrapped his face in his mantle, and went out, and stood in the entering in of the cave. And, behold, there came a voice unto him, and said, What doest thou here, Elijah? – 1 Kings 19:11-13 

We have a God who displays true humility. He does not go about loudly but quietly.

My mind has been in a clutter lately, my heart too is tugging towards somewhere, somewhere I feel that God is leading me to. While I’m trying to ask God more, to discern what it is He is trying to say, I am led to the word ‘silence.’

To hear God’s small still voice, one has to be silent. One has to go nearer. The same way that I would do to listen clearly to what a soft-spoken person is saying, to what I am saying.

When I feel like another complaint is rising from my throat, I remind myself to be silent. When I feel like saying something ill towards something or someone because I was hurt, I remind myself to be silent. When I feel like my mind and body are too stressed out, I remind myself to rest and to listen in the quiet.

Then this week, I was led to this beautiful video inspired by Mother Teresa’s words on the beginning of holiness from Likable Art. I forgot what led me to this video, but I am thankful that I have found it. It has brought me much peace and clarity.

God speaks in the silence of the heart and we listen, and then we speak to God from the fullness of our heart. First we listen, God speaks, and then we speak and God listens and that connection is, is prayer, is oneness with God.

The fruit of prayer, is deepening of faith and the fruit of faith is love and the fruit of love is service. And the fruit of service is peace that’s why we need to pray to have a clean heart and if you have a clean heart we can see God.

And when we see God, naturally we begin to love one another that means, we see, and we look, and then we give our hands to serve and our hearts to love and that’s the beginning of holiness. -Mother Teresa

I especially love how Mother Teresa once said these words… And I can relate to this right now as I have been needing silence. One cannot discern wisely without silence whatever it is that the Lord is calling me to, whatever calling or vocation. I have ears; I pray that I may not just hear but to listen.

Leave a Reply

